Know your location
» East India
» Assam
Location : Guwahati, Assam
Presiding Deity : Lord Shiva
Also Known As : Nabagraha Temple
Significance : Contains Nine Phallic Emblems Of Lord Shiva

The temple of Navagrahas is situated in the southeastern part of the Guwahati town on the crest of a hill known as "Citracala". The temple contains nine phallic emblems of Shiva covered with cloths of different colours sacred to the nine planetary gods, namely, Surya (Sun), Chandra (Moon), Mangala (Mars), Buddha (Mercury), Brihaspati (Jupiter), Shukra (Venus), Shani (Saturn), Rahu and Ketu.

The Nine Planets

The Navagrahas or the nine planets are thus represented in the Sashtras: -

  1. Surya's great chariot has one wheel and is drawn by seven horses, he has a lotus in each hand, wears an armour and has a shield over his breast, has beautiful straight hair, and is surrounded by a halo of light.
  2. Chandra is represented in white colour, clothed in white garment, surrounded by a halo and adorned with ornaments and garland of all sorts of flowers.
  3. Mangala is represented in fire-like red colour, clothed in red garments, seated upon Simhasana, with three arms bearing 'Gada', 'Sula', 'Sakti' weapons and as one in an 'Abhaya' or 'Varada' pose.
  4. Buddha is represented in yellow colour, clothed in yellow garment, with' three arms bearing 'Khadga', 'Khetaka', and 'Gada' and in Varada pose.
  5. Brihaspati is represented in yellow colour, clothed in golden yellow garments with three arms bearing 'Kamandalu', 'Aksamala', and 'Danda' and in Varada pose. Sometimes this planet is represented with two arms having a 'Pustaka' and an 'Aksamala'.
  6. Shukra is represented in white colour, clothed in white garments, having four arms and bearing the same weapons as Brihaspati. Just like him it is sometimes represented with two hands bearing 'Nidhi' (treasure) and 'Pustaka'.
  7. Shani is represented in black colour, clothed in black garments, small in stature and somewhat lame in one leg. He has two arms bearing a Danda and an 'Aksamala' and sometimes in Varada pose.
  8. Rahu is represented on a 'Simhasana' or a silver chariot drawn by eight horses. According to some it possesses four arms, three of which bear 'Khadga', 'Khetaka', and 'Sula' and in Varada pose and sometimes he possesses two arms carrying a book.
  9. Ketu is represented in dark colour having two arms in Abhaya pose holding a 'Gada', and sometimes on a chariot drawn by ten horses."

Construction Of The Temple

The present temple of Navagrahas was built during the time of King Rajesvar Singh in 1752 AD. The upper part (Sikhara) of the temple was destroyed by the great earthquake and was rebuilt with corrugated iron-sheet. The 'Garbhagriha', built of brick, however, exists. The votaries carry on regular worship over here even at present.

Silpukhuri Tank

In 1753 AD King Rajesvar Singh also excavated a tank at little distance from the temple of Navagrahas so that the temple goers might have an easy and perennial supply of water. The tank, known as "Silpukhuri", continues to be as full of water as it was when it was first excavated and supplies water daily to the needy.

A stone inscription fixed on the walls of the temple records the construction of the same by "Tarun Duarah", under the orders of King Rajesvar Singh. The temple was consecrated to the Navagrahas in 1674 Saka Era (1752 AD). K. L. Barua thinks that this temple is the origin of the name Pragjyotisapura or "the City of Eastern Astrology" as Assam was called in the early period.

Booking Information/Reservation