Sis Ganj was built on the land where the Mughals in 1675 AD martyred the
Sikh Guru Sri Guru Tegh Bahadur.
Legend Behind Sis Ganj Gurdwara
It is believed that the night Guru Tegh Bahadur was murdered along with three of his disciples it was raining very heavily. Because of the fear of the Mughals nobody came to pick the bodies up that night. The next day the head of the Guru was taken to Anandpur Sahib and the body to where Gurdwara Rakab Ganj is now situated. A century later a devotee named Baba Baghel Singh searched and found this place and had this place of worship constructed here.
Guru Tegh Bahadur Sahib embraced martyrdom in Delhi on November 11th, 1675. Bhai Jaita and his associates brought his head to Chakk Nanaki. The cremation of the head of Guru Sahib was held here on November 17th, 1675. The trunk of that tree under which the Guru was martyred and the well where he took his daily bath while in prison are preserved here to this day. When Guru Gobind Singh Sahib left Anandpur Sahib, on the night of December 5th and 6th, 1705, he visited this place and appointed Bhai Gurbakhsh Das Udasi as caretaker of this shrine and began his final journey. It is believed that the central pedestal of this shrine is the oldest structure of Chakk Nanaki-Anandpur Sahib.