There are four noteworthy tombs in the colony of South
Extension, all of the square pattern, and probably built during the Lodi
period. Surmounted by a dome, with arched openings on the east, north and
south, but with the main entrance from the south, the western wall of
their interior is provided with a 'minhrab'.
About 300m north of the Ring road is Kale Khan ka-Gumbad, with its ceiling decorated with painted plaster-word. It has an inscription over the minhrab in the western wall, from which we learn that it was built in 886 A.H. (1481) during Buhlul Lodi's reign, to inter the remains of Mubarak Khan.
There were two nobles of this name at Buhlul Lodi's court, but the one buried here is likely to be the father of Darya Khan, whose tomb, described above, does not lie much far. It is the earliest dated square tomb of the Lodi period and the only one in New Delhi South Extension where we have a clue of the person buried.
At the north end of the colony there are three tombs, collectively known as 'Tin-Burj'. About 75 m north of the Kale Khan-ka-Gumbad is the so-called 'Bhure Khan-ka-Gumbad'. A short distance to its north again is a little larger 'Chhote Khan-ka-Gumbad'.
The largest monument to its west is 'Bare Khan-ka-Gumbad', 22m-sq externally. There are domed chhatris on the four corners of its roof and the intrados of its dome are ornamented with incised and painted plaster bands, which meet in a decorative medallion in the centre.