Know your location
» North India
» Delhi
Location: Delhi
Also Known As: Sansad Bhavan
Area: 6 Acres
Houses: Chambers Of Rajya Sabha & Lok Sabha And A Library Hall

The Parliament House, now known as "Sansad Bhavan", has a circular design with 144 pillars. It has a diameter of 174m and a central dome. The original plan was that the dome would be visible from the outside, but a second storey was built, hiding the 28m central dome.

Parliament House has a dome, a circular hall and three semi-circular structures. They are the chambers of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and the Library. The boundary wall is made up of blocks of sandstone, which are carved into geometrical designs. For Indian Nationals, visitor's pass can be obtained by applying at the Parliament Secretariat. Foreign Nationals should apply through their Embassies or High Commissions.

Parliament House Estate
Parliament House Estate comprises the Parliament House, Reception Office building and Parliament House Annexe, 36 Gurdwara Rakabganj Road, 23 Mahadev Road and the extensive lawns around it where ponds with fountains have been provided. Special floral decoration is done at important points in the building during sessions of Parliament as well as on other important occasions. By the very nature of things, Parliament House Estate as a whole and the Chambers of the two Houses in particular are subject to strict security precaution all round the year. Parliament House, Delhi

An ornamental red sandstone wall or iron grill with iron gates that can be closed when occasions demand encloses the entire Parliament House Estate. The approach roads, which cut across the Parliament House Estate, form that part of the Estate, which is prohibited to be used as public thoroughfares

Parliament House is one of the most magnificent buildings in New Delhi, which has one of the brightest clusters of architectural gems possessed by any country in the world. Visitors to the capital invariably pay a visit to this building as the two Houses of Parliament--the Lok Sabha or the House of the People and the Rajya Sabha or the Council of States are located within its walls.

Construction Of The Building
The building was designed by two famous architects - Sir Edwin Lutyens and Sir Herbert Baker, who were responsible for the planning and construction of New Delhi. His Royal Highness, the Duke of Connaught, laid the Foundation stone of Parliament House on 12th February 1921. The construction of the building took six years and the opening ceremony was performed on the 18th January 1927 by the then Governor-General of India, Lord Irwin. The cost of construction for the building was Rs 83 lakhs.

Booking Information/Reservation