As one proceeds, about 2-km on the main road towards
Ponda, a Kuchcha road branches off towards
north at a place where a cross is fixed. The road leads to a hill on
which, commanding a picturesque view, is the Chapel of Our Lady of the
Mount. A series of steps leads to the Chapel, which is built of laterite
plastered with lime mortar. It has three main altars dedicated
respectively to our lady of the mount, St. Anthony and St. Andrew.
The chapel was built under the orders of Afonso de Albuquerque in 1510 and is referred to as in existence in 1519. It was reconstructed twice.