Behind the gate of St. Paul's college is a Kuchcha road
branching off the main road, leading to the chapel of St. Francis Xavier.
It is built of laterite plastered with lime mortar, with tiled roof
supported by wooden rafters is a plain chapel with only one altar.
Architecturally, it is of the Doric order. The Chapel was within the enclosure of the College of St. Paul and was dedicated either to St. Anthony or to St. Jerome. As the chapel was used by St. Francis Xavier, it was re-dedicated to him after his canonization in 1622.
The original chapel was in existence in 1545. With the outbreak of the epidemic and the consequent abandoning of the college of St. Paul in 1570, the chapel fell into ruins and the present chapel was built in 1884.