On the southern outskirts of Old
Goa is a hill on which
stand this convent and church. Built of laterite, plastered with lime
mortar, the plain looking church and the single storeyed convent with
numerous cells are now in ruins. A church, specially built in 1619 to
house the Cross of Miracles, having crumbled, the present church was built
on the same spot in 1674.
The Convent housed the congregation of the Oratory of Philip Neri of Goa. In 1835, the Church and the convent were abandoned. The Cross of Miracles was transferred to a chapel in the Se Cathedral in 1845.