The main road in front of the
Church of St.
Cajetan leads to the river Mandovi through an archway known as the
Viceroy's Arch. The arch is made of laterite except for the façade
on the riverside which is facetted with greenish granite. The façade
has a niche at the top with a statue in stone of
Vasco da Gama. Correspondingly, in the
rear, is a statue of the Argonaut. There are two inscribed slabs alongside
the walls in the arch.
Though the original structure was built soon after the conquest of the city by the Portuguese, the arch underwent considerable changes. The arch was completely re-built in 1954 retaining the statues excepting the bronze statue of St. Catherine, which was at the top of the structure in a separate niche.
The inscription on the original arch recording that the arch was rebuilt by the Governor, Francisco da Gama, can still be seen on this arch. Another inscription on it is dedicated to the Immaculate Conception of Virgin Mary, commemorating the emancipation of Portugal from Spain in 1656.