The remains of the fort of the rulers of
Kangra are located on a
strategic height, overlooking the 'Ban Ganga' and 'Manjhi' rivers.
A saying goes, "He who holds the fort, holds the Kangra" that is why many invaders sacked it. It once used to be the seat of power of Katoch Rajas. Inaccessible cliffs surround the fort on three sides. Once it was an imposing structure of stone. In its highest part were the residences and temples of the old Katoch Kings.
The earthquake of 1905 proved too much for the fort. Its entire structure collapsed and now nothing but its surrounding wall is left. Among its ruins, besides the temple of goddess Ambika Devi, there are two Jain temples too. One of them represents the Tirthankar Adinath. The partly obliterated inscription on it bears the year 1466 AD.
Legend has it that the fort was built by Raja Susharma Chandra after the Mahabharata war. At one time the fort, which occupies a long strip of land, was enclosed with high ramparts and walls covering a circuit of about 4-km. The fort is located at the end of Old Kangra town and is a protected monument maintained by the Archeological Survey of India.