Srinagar, Kashmir Region, J&K
Also Known As:
Jama Masjid, Jamia Masjid
Originally Constructed By:
Sultan Sikandar In 1385
one of the most important mosque is an impressive wooden structure, notable
for the more than 300 soaring pillars supporting the roof; each made of a
single deodar tree trunk. The main gate is to the south and the outer
cloisters surround a spacious, green and peaceful inner courtyard.
The roughly square building is 117 metres on each side, topped by four
Minars in the centre of each side, topped by four Minars in the centre of
each side and three pagoda shaped minarets from which the faithful are
called to prayer.
Reconstructions Of The Mosque
The mosque has had a chequered history - first constructed by Sultan
Sikander in 1385, it was enlarged in 1402 by his son Zain-ul-Abidin but in
1479 it was destroyed by a fire. The mosque was rebuilt again in 1503 but
was destroyed in another fire during the reign of the Mughal emperor
It was rebuilt by the Kashmiri architect and historian Malik Haider
Chaudara but burnt down yet again in 1674 during the reign of Aurangzeb. The
present mosque dates from that time but was rebuilt, on the last occasion,
to the original Indo-Saracenic design.