Built in 1506 as the residence of the Portuguese Governor,
the Bishop's House stands on a little hillock near Parade Ground. The
facade of the house is characterized by large Gothic Arches and has a
circular garden path, winding upto the main entrance.
The building was acquired by Dome Jos Gomes Ferreira, the 27th Bishop of the Diocese of Cochin whose jurisdiction extended over Burma, Malaya and Ceylon in addition to India.