The credit of rediscovering Khajuraho goes to R. S. Burt, a
British engineer who visited Khajuraho in 1838 AD and was struck by the
sculptural and architectural
excellence of its ruined temples. He
briefly noticed the Visvanatha, Nandi,
Varaha and Matangesvara temples, of which the last one was in active
worship and copied Dhanga's stone inscription dated 1002 AD, which was
then lying loose at the Visvanatha temple.
Between 1852 AD and 1885 AD, a detailed survey of the antiquities of Khajuraho including its temples, mounds, loose images and inscriptions was made by Alexander Cunningham. He published the results of his valuable survey in the Archaeological Survey Report, Volumes II, VII, X and XXI issued between 1871 AD and 1885 AD.
Since then many scholars, art-historians and enthusiasts have written on Khajuraho and published its photographic illustrations. Among the latter, Lapel Griffin's illustrations are notable as depicting the condition of the Khajuraho temples before 1880 AD. Since 1904 AD, these temples received their due share of attention from the Archaeological Survey of India, which undertook a well-planned and elaborate programme of special repairs to them with the enlightened cooperation of the Chhatarpur Durbar.
In recent years, the tempo of conservation and publicity has gone apace and the place is attracting an ever-increasing number of tourists and serious students from India and abroad.