Know your location
» North India
» Sikkim
Location: Sikkim
Also Known As: Tashi tagye
Significance: Auspicious Signs Related To The Life And Teachings Of Buddha.

The eight signs are called as "Tashi Tagye" in Tibetan. These auspicious signs are intimate with life and teachings of Lord Buddha.

1. The Dug (Parasol)
The parasol of authority symbolises the authority of Buddha. The parasol protects the head from the scorching heat of sun just as the law protects the mind from the scorching passion.

2. The Sernya (A Pair Of Golden Fishes)
Symbolises resurrection of eternal life, rebirth etc. the pair signifies the ability to swim with ease without obstructing in the ocean of this world. They may also be taken to symbolise the eye of perception as fishes can see through muddy water. The fish couple suggests mutual aid and indispensability between male and female in material life.

3. Bhumpa (Vase)
The vase represents a repository of limitless material wealth, good health and long life.

4. Pema (The Lotus Flower)
It symbolises the ultimate goal namely enlightenment. As the lotus comes out of dirt does not carry any dirt, law is free of all earthly matters.

5. Dhungkar (White Conch Shell)
It symbolises reverberating sound of dharma and signifies the awakening of sentiment beings from the sleeping state of their ignorance and persuading them towards the path of noble deeds that are beneficial to others. Gautam blew the conchshell when he decided to preach the law; a high Lama blows the conchshell in commemoration of this event whenever there is a special sermon.

6. Palbheu (Knot Of Eternity)
It is law without beginning and end, symbolises eternity. The curly hair on the chest of Buddha has the appearance of knot eternity. It is also called as 'Lucky Net', symbolises "Brahamjala" representing all the theories and philosophies of the universe.

7. Gyaltsen (The Banner Of Victory)
This symbol signifies the fortune of having victory of good over the evil forces, which hinders the success of noble goals and also proclaims the victory of piety over evil. It is used in processions.

8. Choekyi Khorlo (The Wheel Of Dharma)
It symbolizes the propagation of Buddha's teachings. The first sermon setting in motion of the cycle of law is symbolised in a wheel with eight spokes, which stand for the Eight-fold path.

Go to top

Booking Information/Reservation