Indian Travel Portal
Tiger, IndiaBeach , IndiaForts IndiaAdventur in IndiaCulture, India
Language:- English | Français | Deutsch | Italiano | Português | Español

Plan Your Tour

Karpaka Vinayaka Temple Or Desi Vinayaka Pillaiyar, Pillaiyarpatti

Know your location
» South India
» Tamil Nadu
Location : At Pillaiyarpatti Near Karaikkudi, Tamil Nadu
Significance: One Of The Oldest Cave Temples (Rock Cut) Of Tamil Nadu
Presiding Deity: Lord Ganesh
Festivals Celebrated: Ganesh Chaturti, Margazhi Tiruvadirai Festival And A Ten-Day Festival During May - June

The town of Pillaiyarpatti is named after 'Pillayar' - the Tamil name for Ganesh, and the Karpaka Vinayaka (also spelt as Vinayak) temple here houses rock cut images of Ganesh, Lord Shiva and several other shrines. The image of Ganesh is bound to be familiar to anyone of Tamil origin; however, little is known to many about the fact that there is an image of the rock cut Karpaka Vinayaka Shrine at Pillayarpatti near Karaikkudi at one of the oldest cave temples (rock-cut) of Tamil Nadu. Pillaiyarpatti is situated between Pudukkottai and Karaikkudi.

The Deities
Karpaka Vinayaka or Desi Vinayaka Pillaiyar is the presiding deity here. Like the Karpaga Vriksham, which bestows all prosperity, praying to this idol will shower all good. He faces north, which is said to be the direction of Kubera, He is portrayed with two arms and a trunk curled towards his right in the valampuri mode. This 6 feet tall mammoth image of Ganesh is a bas-relief in an excavated cave, off of a hill in the precincts of the temple. Tiruveesar is a Shiva Linga carved in a similar manner. Other deities in the temple include Marudankudi Eesar and his consort Vaadaamalar Mangai.

The Growth Of The Temple
The Stalapuranam published by the temple classifies the growth of this temple into three distinct stages. The first stage goes back in time by about 1600 years. During this period, the innermost rock cut shrines housing Karpaka Vinayaka and Tiruveesar came into being. The uniqueness of the image of Ganesh is one factor testifying this date; the characters used in the temple inscriptions also help establish this date. The pillars within the shrine are of pre-Pallava origin.

The Pallavas were prolific builders of rock cut temples and a number of these can be traced to Mahendravarman I (615 - 630 AD) and Narasimhavarman I (630 - 668 AD). However, the inscriptions at Pillayarpatti date further back to the 4th century AD. Also, given the location of the temple in the Pandya kingdom it would only be logical to associate Pandya patronage to this temple, especially in the light of Pandya patronage at the Kazhugumalai temple not too far from here.

There are several inscriptions within this temple that date back to the period between 1091 AD and 1238 AD, making it apparent that the Pillayarpatti Nagarattar became the custodians of the temple during the 13th century AD during the second growth phase of this temple, when Vimanams and RajaGopurams were built. The third phase of growth is much more recent and it involved the repair, rebuilding and refurbishment of the entire temple complex, including the renovation of the temple tank. The tank and the two Raja Gopurams provide an attractive approach to the temple, in this rather remote town of Pillayarpatti.

It is with great pride that the Pillayarpatti Nagarathar community, which has been traditionally involved with the temple - patronizes maintenance of this temple and the scrupulous conduct of worship services.

Worship Services
Each day, five worship services are offered to the presiding deity, commencing at 6.00 a.m. and closing down at 9.00 p.m. During the fourth phase of each lunar half-month, Pillayar is taken in procession around the temple. Hundreds of pilgrims patronize the temple on these days.

Festivities
The grandest of festivals is Ganesh Chaturti in the month of August - September, where a ten-day celebration brings much gaiety to this temple town. Each day's celebration is marked by many splendors as Pillayar is taken in procession around the town on several of his mounts, as are the other Pancha Murtis. The ninth day of the festival is marked by a chariot procession.

In addition, the ten-day festival in the month of 'Vaikasi' (May - June) is held in honour of Kongu Nachiyamman, a village deity whose processional image is also housed here. The Margazhi Tiruvadirai festival is celebrated in honor of Nataraja and Shivakami.

HOW TO GET THERE

Rail:The nearest railway stations are at Karaikkudi and Pudukkottai and from these stations there are regular buses to Pillaiyarpatti.
Road: Pillaiyarpatti is well connected by road with the major towns and cities of the state.

WHERE TO STAY

Accommodation is available at the economy class hotels and lodges in Karaikkudi or Pudukkottai.



Booking Information/Reservation