Khurshid Manzil is located close to the Tarowali Kothi or
royal observatory. The construction of the two-storeyed, miniature
castle-like edifice was undertaken during the reign of Nawab Saadat Ali
The Nawab had intended to gift this palace to his favourite queen Khurshid Zadi, the mother of heir apparent Ghazi-ud-din Haider.
Both Saadat Ali Khan and his wife died before the construction could be completed. The building was finally completed in 1818 in the reign of Ghazi-ud-din Haider, who, honouring the wish of his father, named it Khurshid Manzil after the name of his mother.
Khurshid Manzil, having large central dome, and eight very distinctive towers, topped by battlements, was designed by Captain McLeod. The Kothi was surrounded by a moat known as Chiraya jheel.
Khurshid Manzil was later given to the British, who renamed it the 32nd Mess House. The building became a stronghold of freedom fighters in 1857, when after a long siege Captain Wellesley was able to conquer it. Today, it houses the La Martiniere Girls School.